How we’re organised

PYGYRG comprises of its members who are defined in two ways: (1) the formal membership list compiled by the RGS-IBG, and (2) the wider email discussion list (PYGYWG@JISCMAIL.AC.UK). ‘Members’ incorporates both groups as many of our most active participants are not formally members of the RGS-IBG.

There are 3 formal officer positions of the research group as defined by the RGS-IBG: the Chair, Secretary and Treasurer. The group must have each of these three roles to function as a formal RGS-IBG research group.

In addition there are a number of other roles that the group organises itself, such as Website officer, Postgraduate rep, Librarian, and Dissertation Prize coordinator.

Finally there is a broader Advisory Board that is populated by those who have previously either held formal officer positions in the group or been heavily involved in the group in the past.

ChairMike KesbySt
SecretaryStephanie Denning
TreasurerJanet BowsteadRoyal Holloway,
Prize Coordinator Francesca FoisSalford
Early Career OfficerEveleigh
Digital Representative Caitlin
Postgraduate Representative Bruna Ferreira MontuoriRoyal College of Art
Ordinary Member Ruth
Ordinary Member Sam
Ordinary Member Ayse Giz GulnermanIstanbul Technical
Ordinary Member Levi

How decisions are made

We seek to act in a spirit of inclusiveness and participation. Decisions are made in three ways: (1) by participants at the away weekends and AGM, (2) by the core committee, and (3) by the core committee in consultation with the Advisory Board. Only if issues are considered controversial, complex or challenging is the Advisory Board asked for its advice.

Appointment of new officers

This will be agreed by vote at the AGM. Nominations should be submitted to the existing committee in writing one week before the AGM.